Skip to main content
Ts 1
Foi 250

Speakers for the 1st International Conference on Innovations and Education (ICIE)

Published on
22 March 2022

Marikina Polytechnic College proudly welcomes its roster of esteemed speakers for the 1st International Conference on Innovations and Education (ICIE).
CECILIA S. NAVASERO-GASCON, Ph. D., is the incumbent BulSU President, and SLSU past President (2004-2015). She obtained her Ph. D. in Forestry and Forestry and Silviculture from the University of the Philippines-Los Baños. She also completed an Executive Course in Management of the Environment, with Distinction, and Management of Change for Organizational Transition, from The Maastricht School of Management, The Netherlands, under the Netherlands Fellowship Program. A recipient of International Honor Society of Agriculture-UPLB, Outstanding Alumna Award-Outstanding Institutional Service in the Education Sector-UPPLB College of Forestry and Natural Resources, 2017, and Quezon Medalya ng Karangalan para sa Edukasyon-Provincial Government of Quezon, 2014.
DEXTER RESPICIO BUTED’s experience in government and public service paved the way for the crafting of a sturdy strategic plan as the backbone of his vision to make Pangasinan State University (PSU) an ASEAN Premiere Academic Institution into a reality. As current and 6th University President of PSU, he has introduced transparent governance as key towards transformation – a principle guiding him since becoming Batangas Province’s top legislator and Lyceum of the Philippines University’s management executive. His reforms PSU an ISO 9001:2015 Certification status, thus ranking 7th among the top SUCs in the country.
DR. ETHEL AGNES PASCUA-VALENZUELA is presently the Director of the Southeast Asian Ministers of Education Organization (SEAMEO) Secretariat, the 18th SEAMES Director and the first female Director since SEAMEO was organized in 1965. She served as the first female Deputy Director for Programme and Development of SEAMEO Secretariat from July 2015 to March 2019 and head of the SEAMEO INNOTECH Research Studies Unit. Dr Valenzuela published Philippine Education in the International Encyclopedia of Education under Elsevier London and was awarded as Philippine Normal University’s Blue Ribbon Award for Distinguished Alumni in 2013, and a World Bank Fellow in Multilingual Education.
DR. TIRSO A. RONQUILLO was appointed President of Batangas State University in July 2014 at the age of 41, making him the youngest president in the history of the institution. He was reappointed for a second term in 2018 and continued driving the university at the forefront of development by providing quality education, research and extension services. A full-fledged professor since 2011, Dr. Ronquillo is also a member of the Australasian Association for Engineering Education, and was awarded as the country’s Most Outstanding Electronics Engineer in the Academe in 2013, conferred as an ASEAN Engineer in 2012, and received the Presidential Award of Recognition and Outstanding Faculty of the Year in 2011 and 2005, respectively.
Learn from their experience in the academe, research, and their respective industries on July 28 and 29, via Zoom. Interested parties may register through this link: or email the secretariat at For more details and sample abstracts, please visit:

Official Website of Marikina Polytechnic College